Call for Abstracts

18th International Aphasia Rehabilitation Conference 2018 (IARC 2018)
University of Aveiro, Portugal

Call for abstracts – Abstract submission deadline 9th of April 2018


Abstract submissions must be in English. Submissions will be considered both for oral or poster presentations by an international Scientific Committee.
Abstracts should present innovative and unpublished work, be submitted as Word documents and the text should be structured according to these guidelines:

Background: Describe the background to the study.
Aims: State the aims and objectives of the study including any clear research questions or hypotheses.
Methods & Procedures: Include an outline of the methodology and design of experiments; materials employed and subject/participant numbers with basic relevant demographic information; the nature of the analyses performed.
Outcomes & Results: Outline the important and relevant results of the analyses.
Conclusions: State the basic conclusions and implications of the study. State, clearly and usefully, if there are implications for management, treatment or service delivery.

The abstract cannot exceed 600 words (including headings; excluding references), can include up to five references, one table and one figure with a resolution of at least 300 dpi.
Please use the submission form available
Submissions that do not meet the above-mentioned guidelines will not be reviewed.

All accepted abstracts will be published as Volume 32(S1) of the journal Aphasiology (2016 Impact Factor: 1.626; Journals Citation Reports): Chris Code (Editor); Luis M. T. Jesus (Guest Editor).
At least one of each abstract’s co-authors must register for the conference. Each registered participant can submit a maximum of two abstracts. Abstracts whose authors have not registered by the early bird deadline will be withdrawn from the conference proceedings. Visit the registration page for more information regarding the process to register for the conference.


About IARC

The International Aphasia Rehabilitation Conference is based on a tradition of excellence and brings together researchers and clinical specialists in Speech-Language Pathology, Linguistics, Neuropsychology, and Rehabilitation Medicine dedicated to aphasia rehabilitation. The conference is held in a different country every two years (Australia and the United Kingdom most recently) and regularly attracts 200-300 international delegates (drawing largely from the US, Australia and the UK, and mainland Europe).

The conference attracts world-leading academic and clinical researchers, practising clinicians and often involves a contribution from service users, with an aim to deliver world-leading healthcare research that impacts policy, service delivery and practice. Our keynote speakers are experts in their fields and we hope you will submit your exciting findings to the programme of our meeting. We are offering different presentation formats.


IARC 2018 Scientific Committee

Alexandre Castro Caldas, Universidade Católica Portuguesa, Portugal; Assunção Matos University of Aveiro, Portugal; Chris Code, University of Exeter, UK; David Copland, University of Queensland, Australia; Evy Visch Brink, Erasmus University, The Netherlands; Gill Pearl, Speakeasy, UK; Guylaine Le Dorze, Université de Montréal, Canada; Inês Tello Rodrigues, Instituto Politécnico de Leiria, Portugal; José Fonseca, Escola Superior de Saúde do Alcoitão, Portugal; José Leitão, University of Coimbra, Portugal; Jytte Isaksen, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark; Karen Sage, Sheffield Hallam University, UK; Katerina Hilari, University of London, UK; Linda Worrall, University of Queensland, Australia; Louise Williams, Glasgow Caledonian University, UK; Lucy Dipper University of London, UK; Luis M. T. Jesus, University of Aveiro, Portugal; Marcelo Berthier, University of Malaga, Spain; Maria Emilia Santos, Universidade Católica Portuguesa, Portugal; Miranda Rose, La Trobe University, Australia; Myzoon Ali, Glasgow Caledonian University, UK; Nina Simmons-Mackie, Southeastern Louisiana University, USA; Pam Enderby, University of Sheffield, UK; Spyridoula Varlokosta, University of Athens, Greece; Tami Howe, University of British Columbia, Canada; Travis Threats, Saint Louis University, USA; Valantis Fyndanis, University of Oslo, Norway; Vânia de Aguiar, Johns Hopkins University, USA